Chapter 13 First Impression

I was very excited to see that this chapter would be about personality. I love taking the personality quizzes to see what the results are. I know that some of them may not be the most accurate tests, but I do enjoy taking them!

After getting the results from the tests, I saw that I had the same letter combination from the humanmetrics test and the second personality test on the list. The results I received were ENFJ. The “E” stands for extrovert and was said to be 59% of me while the “N” was intuitive with 6% of my personality. The final two letters “F” and “J” stand for feeling (25%) and judging (22%) respectively. The first test told me I have a preference of extroversion over introversion, intuition over sensing, feeling over thinking, and judging over perceiving. Before this test, I would have thought I was more of a thinker than a feeler because I tend to over analyze every situation I am put in. It was interesting to see this result in both of the tests. The second test describes the ENFJ type as “pedagogue” and that they are outstanding leaders of groups and can be aggressive at helping others be the best they can be. I thought that was interesting because I do always like to be there for others and help them in whatever way they need, but I never would have though to use the word aggressive to describe my desire to help others. The third test told me I was an extrovert as well in factor one. In factor two, it gave me the result of emotional stability. Factor three told me I was agreeable, which their definition is someone who is friendly and optimistic. The fourth factor told me I was conscientious, which is someone who is careful and diligent. Finally, the fifth factor told me I had intellect/imagination meaning that I tended to be more traditional and conventional. The final test, which was the color test gave me answers that were closely related to the answers from the previous tests. Overall, I thought that all of these tests gave me very similar results even if they differed slightly from what I originally thought.

I believe that the first two tests were pretty accurate, and I feel like they could be credible because I had taken similar tests in my high school psychology class. The third test may be less credible than the first two, however, it did go through five different factors so it may still have some credibility/accuracy to it. The color test was the one that I thought may not have been that credible since it got so many results from just a quick click of colors that we were shown. All of these tests were very enjoyable to go through and were interesting to see the results that came up.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chapter 13 First Impression

  1. It’s obvious from all these tests that extraversion is your biggest personality trait. I can relate to you on this trait because I am an extravert too. I agree that taking personality tests are fun. The color test in particular was interesting because it is so far from the face validity tests we are used to taking. We may think we know ourselves pretty well, but there are blind spots in our personalities that we don’t realize. Sometimes, we don’t accept these traits because we view them as negative. Sometimes they are just so subtle that we don’t notice them. However, I think understanding our unknown traits can help us approach life problems and improve relationships. I know these tests aren’t completely accurate, but the results that peg you more as a feeler than a thinker could be useful to you in the future. This may just mean you think more with your heart than your head, which makes sense if you can easily sympathize with others. Because of your feeler side, you may be the one people go to for advice or support.

    Like

  2. I’m glad that you liked the tests. I agree that personality tests are fun since it always interesting to see your response. I also liked my results for the first three personality test and I agree with you when you said that the fourth personality test was the least credible. The questions were unusual did not make any sense. By doing this I suspect that the people that made the test were trying to make the test empirically keyed. In an empirically keyed personality test, the relationship between the questions and the response to the questions are not easily seen so they can not be manipulated or faked. The people creating the test forgot that empirically keyed tests need many questions in order to get good responses. The color test had only two questions while personalities test like the MMPI, which have great reputations have more than a hundred questions. This leads me to believe that when the color test posted that they were a credible and widely used test was a lie.

    Like

Leave a comment